The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes celebrates outstanding young leaders. Each year the Barron Prize honors 25 inspiring young people who have made a significant positive difference to people and our planet.

These young people reflect great diversity: They are female and male, urban and rural, and from many races and backgrounds.

The Prize was founded by author
T. A. Barron in 2001 in honor of his mother.

To learn more about the Prize, check out the tabs above.

Featured Video
Jane Goodall on the Barron Prize. View a larger version of this video.
The Barron Prize will announce its 2015 winners in late September. The Prize will begin accepting applications for its 2016 awards cycle on January 4, 2016. Visit
"How to Apply" to view our application.
Young Heroes Resources

Check out these fabulous resources:

The Hero's Trail by T.A. Barron
New documentary ~ Dream Big:
   The Inspiring Young Heroes of the Barron Prize
Activity Guide and other educational materials
Two videos about heroes from kids in Ohio:
   How to be a Hero and Some Heroes We Know

The Barron Prize is grateful for the support of the National Geographic Education Foundation, Girl Scouts of the USA, Earth Force, the National Youth Leadership Council, Youth Service America, Roots & Shoots, Youth Venture, and the Student Conservation Association.